THE KWYET KINGS - Been where , done what ?

THE KWYET KINGS Been where , done what ? cd 1999 32o kbps
You say / Every little piece / Can't hurry love / Strange / Radiated by your charm / I never thought° / Just like that / It's easy+ / Lonely boy / Ooh, I love you* / Out of sight / Dead moon night.
Produced by Kai Andersen & the Kwyet Kings.
The Kwyet Kings : Arne Thelin : vocals & harp / Paal Andreassen : 6 & 12 string guitars and piano / Fredrik Hagen : 6 & 12 string guitars and vocals / Stig Amundsen : bass , guitar and vocals / Otto Gamst : drums , guitar and vocals .
plus Vibeke Saugestad : vocals on */ Kai Andersen : double bass on ° / Sven Olsen : backing vocals on +
From Norway, the Kwyet Kings play power-pop in the tradition of the Flamin' Groovies and Badfinger, with a beefy sound sure to stick in your head for days! Irresistible choruses, strong guitar chords, and melodic lead solos with simple but strong bass and drums.
The Kwyet Kings were one of the handful of bands fronted by Arne Thelin, who has been busy since the late-eighties as lead singer for the Cosmic Dropouts and his subsequent band the Lust-O-Rama, who have been hailed by many as the 'Thee Kings of Euro-Garage'. Since day one he had been running his own label "That's Entertainment Records", that left behind quite an impressive output of more than two dozen 7" and cd releases of Norwegian bands. In 1992, after a dispute with his bandmates in the Lust-O-Rama Arne left, while the remaining members continued with new singer Alex Rosen under the name the Highrollers - however, Thelin went on as lead vocalist with two new-formed outfits, the rather Ramones styled Bittersweets plus The Kwyet Kings, that delivered a critically acclaimed blend of garage rock and power pop. Back then the Kwyet Kings had Knut 'Euroboy' Schreiner on guitar, Kåre 'Travolta' Pedersen (from Kåre And The Cavemen / The Abusers) on bass, plus Otto Gamst (from The Cutbacks) on the drums and Pål Andreassen (ex-Cosmic Dropouts) on second guitar. Between 1993 and 1995 this line-up recorded numerous singles and released two full-length albums 'Firebeat' and 'Cherrypie' on Screaming Apple / That's Entertainment. When Arne Thelin located to Thailand to work in tele engineering - and Knut quit to take upon full-time employment in Turbonegro - the band paused for a while, and released a late third album "Been where ? Done what ?" in 1999 with a new line-up. A last cd "Single'n shit" which compiles the singles was released in 2000 .
Besides, Otto Gamst and Pål Andreassen were playing in The Yum Yum's .
In 2004 , Arne Thelin was in a new band called Bithammer . They released a six-track cd ep "Scandinavian Wanker" on Wizzard In Vinyl records .
In 2006 , Wizzard In Vinyl released also a 22-track career retrospective : "Second Thoughts: Pop Drops 1987-2005" . This compilation , an excellent sampling from every "Arne Thelin incarnation" ( tracks now next-to-impossible to find as they come from out-of-print releases ), is a must collection for long time fans and an excellent introduction for newcomers!

5 commentaires:


THE KWYET KINGS : "Been where , done what ?" 320 kbps + covers

Enjoy it & leave comments if you like it !

Anonyme a dit…

Merci beaucoup pour ce grand disque des Kwyet Kings.
Peut-on espérer "Cherry Pie" également ?


"Singles'n shit" sûr ... "Cherrie pie" possible ...

Anonyme a dit…



Anonyme a dit…

I heard of these guys when I was listening to Euroboys and Yum Yums and the Vikings.